Am I Experiencing Abuse?
What Can SAWERA Do For Me?
Domestic Violence Resources
The following information regarding crime victims is brought to you as a public service by the lawyers of the State of Oregon and Oregon’s Victims’ Compensation Program. The material presented is general legal information intended to alert you to possible legal problems and solutions.
Compensation For Victims of Crime Every year hundreds of people are killed or injured in this state as a result of violent crime. These people are victims of robberies, child abuse, assaults, rapes, domestic violence homicides and other serious crimes. These innocent people endure the trauma of medical expenses and loss of earnings. In homicide cases, families suffer emotional grief, loss of financial support and funeral costs.
The State of Oregon has recognized the needs of victims and their families. In 1977, the Oregon Crime Victims’ Compensation Program was enacted. This law provides a way to ease the financial losses of the victim and the victim’s family as a result of these violent crimes.
If you have been a victim of crime in Oregon, Crime Victims’ Compensation Program (CVCP) may be able to help you.
“Victim” means a person who is injured or killed as a result of a compensable crime committed against the victim in the State of Oregon.
“Compensable Crime” means an intentional, knowing or reckless act by a person resulting in physical and/or emotional injury and/or death of another person would be punishable as a crime.
Compensation May Include:
Up to $20,000 for reasonable medical and/or counseling expenses from a licensed professional.
Loss of earnings/support up to $400 per week to a maximum of $20,000.
Funeral expenses up to a maximum of $3,500.
Rehabilitation up to a maximum of $4,000.
Reimbursement of mileage for medical/mental health treatment over 60 miles round trip when services are not available with another provider in the area. Not available for crimes committed prior to 10/4/97.
NOTE: Compensation expires three years after the date of the acceptance order and no further payments will be made.
To Be Eligible For Compensation You Must:
Be a victim of a crime that occurred in Oregon or be an Oregon resident victimized in a state without a victim compensation program.
Report the crime to the police or sheriff within 72 hours.*
Cooperate fully to apprehend and prosecute the assailant.
Not have been involved in a wrongful act and/or did not provoke the assailant.
Apply for compensation within 6 months of the crime.*
*Reporting the crime within 72 hours and applying for compensation within six months of the crime may be waived with good cause.
Compensation Losses/Expenses May Include:
Compensable Losses Do Not Include:
Pain and suffering or property damage or loss.
Nervous or mental shock due to property damage or loss.
Victims Are Not Eligible If:
The injury or death resulted from the victim’s own wrongdoing, provocative or contributory behavior.
The crime occurred before 10/4/97 and the total loss/expense is less than $100.
The injury or death resulted from an accident.
The crime occurred prior to 9/27/87 and the victim and assailant were related or sharing the same household.
The crime happened before Oregon CVCP was established in January of 1978.
Process Of Applications Will Be Deferred If:
The victim is incarcerated.
The victim owes money as a result of a criminal conviction.
How Applications Are Determined After receiving the application, the Crime Victim’s Compensation Program will process your request for compensation. This requires obtaining police reports, medical reports, employment verification (when applicable) and any other information necessary for the investigation.
Benefits available, such as sick leave, medical, disability or life insurance, social security or restitution are primary to compensation awarded. Any monies recovered for the injury after compensation has been paid must be repaid to the Department of Justice.
The Crime Victim’s Compensation Program will notify you in writing of the decision determining your request for compensation.
How to Submit An Application Applications may be obtained from and filed with:
Crime Victim’s Compensation Program Department of Justice 1162 Court St NE Salem, OR 97310 Telephone (503) 378-5348 TDD (503) 378-5938 FAX (503) 378-5738
Or applications can be obtained from your local District Attorney’s Victim Assistance Program.